Social Accountability StandardISO SA 8000 -
ISO SA 8000 is the International Standard for Social Accountability Standard.

ISO SA 8000: Standard for Social Accountability

What is ISO SA 8000?

ISO SA 8000 is the International Standard of Social Accountability Which measures social performance in eight areas important to social accountability in workplaces, anchored by a management system element that drives continuous improvement in all areas of the Standard.

It is appreciated by brands and industry leaders for its rigorous approach to ensuring the highest quality of social compliance in their supply chains, all the while without sacrificing business interests. SA 8000:2014 is the current version of the SA 8000® Standard. It replaced SA 8000:2008 in June 2014.

The most significant updates for SA 8000:2008 are explained here below.

Forced or Compulsory Labor

All organizations certified to ISO 8000:2014 must now ensure that their workers are free from employment fees and costs.

Management System

SA 8000:2014 places increasing emphasis on the importance of a strong management system. A management system is a set of policies, procedures, and processes that helps an organization integrate the requirements of the SA 8000 Standard into its daily operations.

SA 8000 certification for Health and Safety

All organizations certified to SA 8000:2014 must have a Health and Safety Committee consisting of management representatives and workers, which is responsible for monitoring health and safety hazards.

Child Labor

No use or support of child labor; policies and written procedures for remediation of children found to be working in situation; provide adequate financial and other support to enable such children to attend school; and employment of young workers conditional.

Disciplinary Practices

Treat all personnel with dignity and respect; zero tolerance of corporal punishment, mental or physical abuse of personnel; no harsh or inhumane treatment.


No discrimination based on race, national or social origin, caste, birth, religion, disability, gender, sexual orientation, union membership, political opinions and age. No discrimination in hiring, remuneration, access to training, promotion, termination, and retirement. No interference with exercise of personnel tenets or practices; prohibition of threatening, abusive, exploitative, coercive behavior at workplace or company facilities; no pregnancy or virginity tests under any circumstances.

Working Hours

Compliance with laws & industry standards; normal workweek, not including overtime, shall not exceed 48 hours; 1 day off following every 6 consecutive work days, with some exceptions; overtime is voluntary, not regular, not more than 12 hours per week; required overtime only if negotiated in CBA.

How to Become Certified to the SA8000 Standard

ISO SA 8000 is an accreditation body and does not develop standards or deliver certification services. It undertakes the assessment and evaluation of the accredited certification bodies that conduct SA8000 audits. SAI and other stakeholders, including brands and retailers, only accept and recognize SA8000 certificates issued by accredited certification bodies. In addition, it will only list accredited SA8000 certificates on its website.
In order to be certified, It recommends that organizations contact several of the accredited certification bodies to provide a bid for certification services. Auditors from these certification bodies visit facilities and assess corporate practice on a wide range of issues and evaluate the state of a company’s management systems necessary to ensure ongoing acceptable practices. It also publishes a certified facilities list, and certificates can be confirmed by the auditing company issuing the certificate.

The latest update on ISO 8000 Certification

SAI has created a set of tools, called Social Fingerprint®, to help organizations continuously measure and improve their management system. This toolkit includes the Social Fingerprint Self-Assessment and the Social Fingerprint Independent Evaluation, and it measures the organization’s management system in ten areas important to continuous improvement. Social Fingerprint is used to define the maturity level of an organization’s management system on a scale from 1 to 5, and to identify areas for improvement.

Elements of the SA 8000® Standard

  • Child Labor
  • Forced or Compulsory Labor
  • Health and Safety
  • Freedom of Association and Right to Collective Bargaining
  • Discrimination
  • Disciplinary Practices
  • Working Hours
  • Remuneration
  • Management System

Customer satisfaction

Our Organisation Goal is to listen to Client Requirements on Priority and Delight their requirements within the timeline by providing the best services.

Reduced operating costs

Continual improvement of processes and resulting operational efficiencies mean money saved.

Improved stakeholder relationships

We have all the expertise team such as engineers, technical, environmental safety officer etc from all over India.

Proven business credentials

Independent verification against a globally recognized industry standard speaks volumes.

Ability to win more business

Procurement specifications often require certification as a condition to supply, so certification opens doors.

Global recognition as a reputable supplier

Certification is recognized internationally and accepted throughout industry supply chains, setting industry benchmarks for sourcing suppliers.

Consistent quality approach

Common approach in the supply chain for supplier or subcontractor development, driving consistency, competence and control.

Expert Consultants


Orders Successful


activated clients

automate & simplify growth

Client’s Reviews

how Primor Consulting helps you

Subscribe for Updates